Free Citation Tool: Ms. Office, Google Scholar, and Zotero

For many years, I have been using Ms. Word application for my citation and research collection references. It helps me so much in-text citations and organizing bibliographies automatically and alphabetically. I can make it by inputting manually the sources such as type, author, title, year, publisher, and so on, in Ms. Office “references” menu [>insert citation>add new sources]. The data will be stored in my file and the internal computer memory,  when I need them I can manage my sources and citation style, such as APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard style, and so on. In-text citation, I just click on “insert citation” and choose the articles I refer to, and edit it if need to specify the page number. Automatically, all the sources I cited in-text will put in bibliography section after clicking on “bibliography” or “work cited” under “references” menu.

Besides that, I also use  Google Scholar. It allows me to access the free online articles from various scholar. What I like form google scholar is its service that all scientific articles from author around the worlds are appeared there -free or paid. Below each article, it shows us how to cite and how many times the article cited. By knowing the article  has cited by many scholars, it gives us a clue that the article worthy to cite or no.

Recently, I found a new free research tool that automatically extract the articles metadata such as type, author, title, year, publisher, source link, pages, and so on. The tool is Zotero. This tool works perfect for me to create footnote, end note, in-text citation, and/or bibliography/work cited. The data we store on Zotero (online) also can be store in my personal PC by installing Zotero Standonlone. The most I like for this application is it is easy to use (read the tutorial).

……..

Searching

Searching an article you expected sometimes is like looking for a needle in a haystack because of much data store online and search engine, e.g. Google, Yahoo, etc. offer you thousands of articles related to your key word(s). But you can minimize the data search by searching with an exact phrase or sentences, such as on Google search engine, by putting double quotation marks around words, for example “English teaching for young learner” will exactly search the articles refer to the phrase. Try! It will be around 1,700 results with quotation marks, but about 12,100,000 without quotation marks. Find more tips and tricks how to googling [click here] 

Leave a comment